The Triple Crown 2011

Officially known as the Triple Crown of Thoroughbred racing, but more commonly referred to as the Triple Crown is the title and term used for any horse who wins the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness Stakes and the Belmont Stakes.

As one might imagine, the achievement of winning just one of these highly prestigious races is amazing, but to win all three is truly incredible and those that have done so, quite rightly earn legendary status.

The races are all run quickly after one an another, but the first leg is always the Kentucky Derby, folllowed two weeks later by this race, the Preakness Stakes and then the third and final leg is the Belmont Stakes, which comes three weeks later.They are all run over different distances but are all run on dirt tracks. The last Triple Crown winner was Affirmed in 1978

Mine That Bird, who won the 2009 Kentucky Derby is of course the only horse from the Preakness Stakes runners, that can win the Triple Crown this year.

Triple Crown Winners

Those legends who have won the Triple Crown are listed below

Year Horse Jockey Trainer
1919 Sir Barton J Loftus H G Bedwell
1930 Gallant Fox E Sande J Fitzsimmons
1935 Omaha W Saunders J Fitzsimmons
1937 War Admiral C Kurtsinger G Conway
1941 Whirlaway E Arcano B Jones
1943 Count Fleet J Longdon D Cameron
1946 Assault W Mehrtens M Hirsch
1948 Citation E Arcano H Jones
1973 Secretariat R Turcotte L Laurin
1977  Seattle Slew J Cruguet WH Turner
1978  Affirmed S Cauthen L Barrera

We are committed to supporting Responsible Gambling Initiatives - For additional information visit : GamCare | Gamble Aware | Gamblers Anonymous